Realising we’re human

In the wonderful world of online networking I joined a LinkedIn group called Onstartups a few days ago. From this I got an email update about conversations going on within this group from the creator Dharmesh. I clicked through to his blog – a site for entrepreneurs, written by a successful entrepreneur.

In the spirit of social media strategy I wrote a comment on his blog as I really enjoyed his post in which he discussed simple steps for any startup to take, and I was pleased to see we’d done so many of them already. It is also clearly written, concise and idiot proof. Something we all like.https://i0.wp.com/static.bethsoft.com/blog/bright_shiny.jpg

I then followed him on Twitter and subscribed to get his blog downloaded to Outlook which filled my folder with all his past blogs. I started reading avidly and every single post resonated with what we’ve been experiencing – this guy knows his stuff. Like me he’s also a huge fan of Seth Godin (except he’s had lunch with him and heard him speak at a conference) and Guy Kawasaki.

I felt his posts so hit the nail on the head that I sent one around to our ConnectionPoint team to show that when Daryl and I get distracted by bright new shiny things we’re not the only ones! I also call it being visionary 😉

The top 4 he quoted are below and whilst we’re not at that stage on most yet I can see how easily it could happen:

1. New technology/platform/language/framework
2. New market/customers/industry
3. New Feature/Application/Product
4. New Company

“What makes this problem a problem is that it is rare that going after the  Shiny New Thing is going to increase your odds of success (however you define it).  Most of the time, it’s a distraction.  The rest of the time, it’s usually a major distraction.  To really succeed and get things done, you’re going to need to stick to something and get the basic machinery “working” and plug away at it.  Good ideas take time.  Great ideas take even more time.” – so true!

Plus I liked his post on ‘Everything I know about startups’ which includes

1.  Your idea can suck.  Just get started.
2.  You can be in the middle of nowhere and still build a great business.
3.  Not having cash breeds good behavior.  It’s helpful to have constraints.

Definitely yet another great reading resource to keep me focussed (when I’m not spending time reading it I’m spending time doing all the things I have on my long list) – another point he highlights that we all face in start-ups, and another reason not to let shiny things distract us (unless of course they’re super shiny…)



Leave a Reply

